The Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA), an attached agency of NEDA, conducted a nationwide Search for Outstanding COVID 19 Volunteers to recognize the contribution of individual volunteers in this time of COVID 19 pandemic.

The Central Visayas search committee, which is composed of different government agencies and NGOs, received 22 nominations from Bohol, Negros Oriental and Cebu. These nominations were subjected to validation and review of the search committee to come up with the shortlisted nominees for online interview. The top three nominees were Mr. Felix Taguiam, President of Cebu Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Mr. Remus C. Mariñas, a public school teacher and Mr. Jose Marie V. Gochangco, a lawyer and an army reservist.

After a thorough deliberation, the search committee unanimously voted for Atty. Jose Marie V. Gochangco as the Region 7’s Most Outstanding COVID 19 Volunteer to represent the region in the national awards. His major accomplishments involved the funding, innovation and design of improvised face shields, PPEs and UVC Decontamination Equipment with the help of his fellow reservists. His team was able to manufacture a total of 9,000 improvised face shields, 500 PPEs and 33 UVC Decontamination Equipment which were donated to AFP, hospitals, quarantine facilities, NGOs and private offices in NCR, Region III, Region IV-A and Region 7.

The online regional awarding ceremony was conducted during the 4th Quarter RDC meeting on December 07, 2020 while the online national awarding ceremony was conducted on December 16, 2020 by the PNVSCA.

The complete list of nominees are the following:

Top Three:
1. Mr. Felix Taguiam
2. Mr. Remus C. Mariñas
3. Mr. Jose Marie V. Gochangco

4. Mr. Dario V. Gawala
5. PO3 George T. Getigan
6. Dr. Jefferson H. Ong
7. Mr. Bobby Cenicero

Negros Oriental:
8. Mr. Mark Anthony C. Cataluña
9. Mr. John Louie A. Lubaton
10. Ms. Menchu S. Arnaez
11. Ms. Rowela G. Denolan

12. Ms. Arlene C. Reponte
13. Mr. Ramie P. Bataluna
14. Mr. Keannu M. Arnoco
15. Ms. Clare Maristela V. Galon
16. Ms. Rosita A. Hernani and Mr. Emmanuel V. Hernani
17. Ms. Leigh Ann A. Ybañez
18. Mr. Chriz D. Gelbolingo
19. Mr. Elmer T. Atibula
20. Dr. Joseph Al L. Alesna
21. Mr. Roy C. Genare
22. Mr. Noel Kirc P. Aragon